Updates

New Year, New Plans & Photo Challenges

It’s 2017. I’m not entirely sure when that happened, I feel like I barely did anything in 2016 – so where did the year go? I have been busy though, and I’ve achieved a fair bit, even if I don’t give myself credit where it’s due.

Let’s make a list!

  • I started a new job which took my working week from less than 10 hours up to 40-45 hours, which is exhausting but also really wonderful
  • I released two poetry collections which are available as eBooks on various sites – you can buy Ghosts here and Poetry, Prose & all the in-between things here
  • I made new friends
  • I left the country numerous times
  • I wrote the first draft of a novel for NaNoWrimo
  • I co-hosted an Instagram photo challenge with Aneta

Those are the big things, and they were all good things. I also made lots of plans for the coming year, let’s have another list!

  • Edit The Novel
  • Do more things that are more meaningful to me (like spending time with the people I love and journalling and cooking)
  • Make a podcast & blog more regularly
  • Host more Instagram challenges
  • Declutter my life – one thing at a time (I already did my wardrobe and my beauty corner, next up The Bookshelves!)
  • Take better care of myself – mentally and physically

That’s only a few of the things that I want to do, but I’m limiting myself to a few goals in the first half of the year. I feel like if I put too much on my plate I’ll get overwhelmed and quit entirely, which would be really sucky. I recently attended a webinar by Michael Hyatt which was really helpful in Goal Setting and knowing where to start and how to keep going – if anyone is interested in knowing more, leave a comment and I’ll send you an email all about it!

Now, let’s talk about the #HuntingDecember2016 photo challenge! It’s been one of my proudest moments this year – having completed something in its entirety, as well as having organised it, is an achievement for me.

I was writing my "yearly round up" when I remembered this quote from a Tale of Two Cities, and I honestly cannot think of anything that sums up this year better. Today's #huntingdecember2016 is all about Time, and I was thinking about what it meant to me, what it's taught me, what it's given me. I was planning to take a photo with my planner and my favorite watch and my calendar… Cause lately time has been more physical than elemental for me. I'm watching it run out. I'm complaining that I don't have enough of it to do all the things I wanna do. I'm turning 29 next year, and I feel like I've achieved nothing, like I've wasted my time. 2016 has been the absolute worst, I've grieved for people who were my light in the darkest of times. I've watched my country descend into madness and throw away something wonderful. I've been ill and physically hurt almost constantly. But through all of it I've found something worth more than I could possibly give – friends who have given me their time, who have supported me, who have pushed me, who have helped me learn to take care of myself. @anetakpawlik and Jasmin (@jatrice_com) have been there for laughter and tears and those days when I just wanna scream and break things and I am eternally grateful to both of them. Time is precious, and we should spend it wisely. I'm planning on giving more of it to the people I love and the things that make me happy. Maybe other things will fall into place along the way. #quote #charlesdickens #photochallenge #photochallengedecember #photography #photographersofinstagram #photographersofvienna #igersvienna #viennablogger #prettyshinythings #handwriting #handwritten #longpost

A post shared by Timony Souler (@timonysouler) on

First of all, I want to say thank you so much to Aneta for convincing me to do this with her, it was so much fun and really forced me to commit to something and see it through til the end; and, of course, a huge thank you to all the wonderful people that took part! All the photos were fantastic, and the captions were great – seeing the little snippets of thought, or the poetry, or the insights into people’s lives was inspirational.

I was standing on the edge of the Hallstätter See, watching this beautiful white cloud of fog obscure Hallstatt, and it struck me how the colour white obscures so much – white is innocence, it's a clean slate, it's a privilege that I've never had. My skin isn't the right colour, my eyes are the wrong shape, my hair the wrong texture. I've been told to "get back to where I belong" because my skin isn't alabaster and my eyes aren't a vivid blue and my hair isn't the sunlight. That's okay. I've lived with it and learned to love it. There was a time when I wished I was something else. When I hear the word white I'm immediately reminded of all the things that I am not. I am proud of what I am not. I am even prouder of what I am. #huntingdecember2016 #photochallenge #photochallengedecember #photography #photographersofinstagram #photographersofvienna #igersvienna #viennablogger #prettyshinythings #hallstatt #hallstättersee #adventures #happymoments #prettyshinythings

A post shared by Timony Souler (@timonysouler) on

It also got me into the habit of thinking about what I wanted to say with each photo and each prompt, and it got ~*deep*~ which I’m really happy about. I used to use Tumblr for microblogging and day-to-day updates, but recently I’ve been getting really disillusioned with the whole platform,  so being able to shift that to Instagram has been really freeing.

The last of my #huntingdecember2016 entries – fresh. Nothing cures me of what ails me like a trip to Ayr in the blistering winds to watch the sunset while breathing the fresh Atlantic air. I ended 2016 on pretty high note; time with my family and the best friends a person could ask for, and full of great plans for the new year. I'm not gonna say 2017 is gonna be my year, cause I'm still in a shit ton of pain and off work, but it means I have time to get my shit together so I'm totes not complaining. Time for a fresh start, and hopefully a healthy, injury free year! #photochallenge #photography #photographersofinstagram #photographersofvienna #igersvienna #viennablogger #prettyshinythings #scotland #ayr #happymoments #adventures

A post shared by Timony Souler (@timonysouler) on

There will be another challenge in March – Aneta and I will get together soon to figure it out and we’ll let you guys know all about it mid-February. I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with!

That’s it from me, I’ll be back soon with some updates and interesting tidbits – but in the meantime go read Aneta’s wonderful roundup of the photo challenge, and tell me what your plans are for the year ahead!

 

3 thoughts on “New Year, New Plans & Photo Challenges

Leave a Reply

