General Musings

‘Timony Needs a Break

Hallo my lovelies,

if you follow me on Twitter or Tumblr you will have no doubt read my most recent post entitled ‘Questioning…’ – after writing that post I had a pretty long think.

Truth is, I’m not having fun any more. I’m really not. I’m tired of feeling so pressured about my writing – and I’m piling that pressure on myself. My work is deteriorating due to the stress I’m causing myself.

So, after realising that I’m pretty much failing and falling apart all at the same time, I have decided to take a step back from all of it. The blogging, Tumblr and publishing any of my work online. I won’t be updating my 750words, or my #WIP500 count either. Basically, I’m taking a well earned holiday from it all. I want to write for myself, when I have the desire to do so. I know I should have a work ethic and blah blah blah – but I feel like shit, and I really don’t want to subject you to that. My writing is awful right now, I’m just not feeling it.

I’ll still be lurking in the background. I’ll still set up challenges for you guys if you want – and I will take part in the #MarchMadness challenge too. But apart from that, I don’t think I’ll be partaking in much.

I’m just really tired right now. And I feel like giving up entirely. I have no idea how long I’ll be gone from this world – but I’ll be back as soon as I feel up to it. In the mean time, keep writing and drinking mug loads of tea!

Love & hugs & other snazzy things,

‘Timony

12 thoughts on “‘Timony Needs a Break

  1. It can be overwhelming. Do what you need to do, ‘Timony! Writing should be a release; I think your honesty is brave. I’ll miss reading your posts, but I totally get it. Go live your life and get your groove back!

  2. I hope you still pop in from time to time. But I know what you mean, if it weren’t for needing to retire from by day job, I wouldn’t be pushing my writing so hard. I’m afraid of burnout because I’m so prone to it.

    Anyway, you are still allowed to bug me every once in a while and you have no reason not to be #timonyisproudofherself

    😉

  3. I’m in the same place right now actually, have been for a little while. I’m determined to finish Lost Girls’ Society on my site before I step back from the writing to recharge–but after that I don’t intend to post any more serious work until August.

    I think we’ll get through though. Probably? Seems probable.

  4. I’m saddened, ‘Timony, but I’ve been there. Something to consider is that you don’t have share. It’s a lot less pressure, and sometimes a pen and paper can be a better release valve than a public forum. Years ago I read “The New Diary” by Tristine Rainer, and it’s one of the few non-fiction books I hold up as a continuing source of inspiration.

    1. I think that’s the route I’m going down, Darryl, will just be writing for myself for the time being. I will definitely check out the book you’ve mentioned – thank you.

  5. Im sorry you are feeling so overwhelmed Timony. You SHOULD be writing just because you want to, not because you have to. You could always dump the challenges and just update your blog when you feel like it. I like the contests but yeah, they are a little stressful which is why I won’t participate in more than 2 a week. Anyways, hope to see you around soon. Feel better.

  6. I know the feeling.. in my case the writing feels even more like a chore when the rest of my life eats up all my time, so when I SHOULD be writing all I want to do is shut off my brain and watch mindless TV. Or drink!

    I miss you already…. come back soon! 🙂

  7. You’re doing exactly the right thing. I’ve done the same in the past when I’ve been feeling burned out. I tend to do almost everything in fits and starts and have massive bursts of productivity followed by mini burn outs… learned not to be hard on myself, but to accept it. Have a nice break. xxx

Leave a Reply

